top of page

The team at PeriphaGen consists of  dedicated and creative scientists and technicians working together to develop the next generation of drugs for the treatment of neurological disorders.

David Krisky, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Board Member

Dr. Krisky is a pathologist and virologist with 20 years of experience and is an inventor of the core technologies of the NET platform. Prior to founding PeriphaGen Dr. Krisky was the Senior Director of Medical Science and Clinical Safety for Diamyd Incorporated and was responsible for the product development and clinical program for the NET platform, the clinical safety of Phase I and Phase II NET platform clinical trials, and the clinical safety of the global Phase III clinical trials of the Diamyd Type 1 Diabetes product. Dr. Krisky leads PeriphaGen clinical development of NET products for neuropathic pain, neuropathy, and neuronal regeneration as well the clinical trial design and implementation.


James Wechuck, Ph.D.
Executive Board Member

Dr. Wechuck is a biochemical engineer with 15 years of experience in recombinant protein production, viral vector manufacturing, and biologics testing. Prior to founding PeriphaGen Dr. Wechuck was the Senior Director of Manufacturing Development for Diamyd Incorporated and developed and advanced the proprietary cGMP manufacturing production, purification, and formulation methodologies for the Diamyd Type 1 Diabetes Drug Product and the current NET platform products. Dr. Wechuck has also led the Chemistry Manufacturing and Controls (CMC) regulatory elements for several investigational drug applications in US and Europe. Dr. Wechuck directs the development and advancement of CMC activities for PeriphaGen NET platform therapeutics.


James R. Goss, Ph.D.
Consultant, Neuroscience and Preclinical Development

Dr. Goss is a neuroscientist with 30 years of experience with broad, hands-on involvement with drug development in academia, biotech, pharmaceutical, and non-profits. He worked alongside Drs. Krisky and Wechuck in developing the NET platform and demonstrating its therapeutic effectiveness in numersous neurological disorders.  Dr. Goss has overseen the preclinical development of gene therapy, biologic, pharmaceutical, and device-based therapeutics; he consults on PeriphaGen's preclinical activities in neuropathy, pain, and other neurological areas.



David Fink, M.D.
Robert Brear Professor and Chair

Department of Neurology

University of Michigan

Dr. Fink is a neurologist who has pioneered the development of HSV-based gene therapy vectors for the treatment of neurological disorders.


Guido Cavaletti, M.D. 
Head, Experimental Neurology Unit

Director, PhD Program in Neuroscience

Department of Surgery and Translational Medicine

University of Milano-Bicocca

Dr. Cavaletti is a neurologist/electrophysiologist and internationally known leader in clinical CIPN neuropathology and the use of animal models for the study of CIPN.


Charles Loprinzi, M.D. 
Regis Professor of Breast Cancer Research

Mayo Clinic School of Medicine 

Dr. Loprinzi is an oncologist and noted expert in breast cancer prevention and symptom control. He has been involved in the design and execution of over a dozen CIPN clinical trials.


Axel Grothey M.D.
Mayo Clinic School of Medicine

Dr. Grothey is an oncologist and well known leader in the treatment of gastrointestinal cancers. He has been involved in the design and execution of over a dozen CIPN clinical trials.


Patrick Douherty, Ph.D.


Department of Pain Medicine

Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Douherty is an expert in the mechanisms underlying the development of CIPN especially in regards to the chronic neuropathic pain often associated with CIPN.


Joanna Brell, M.D.

MetroHealth Cancer Center

Cleveland, OH

Dr. Brell is a medical oncologist specializing in the treatment of gastrointestinal cancers and focused on the causes and treatments of CIPN as faculty at the National Cancer Institute


James Albers, M.D., Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor of Neurology (Active)

Department of Neurology

University of Michigan

Dr. Albers is a neurologist and recognized expert in the diagnosis and neuropathology of CIPN.


Robert Dworkin, Ph.D.
Professor of Anesthesiology, Neurology, Oncology, and Psychiatry

Center for Human Experimental Therapeutics

Director, Anesthesiology Clinical Research Center

School of Medicine and Dentistry

University of Rochester

Dr. Dworkin is a well known expert in clinical pain management, the neurobiological mechanisms underlying chronic pain, and the development and execution of clinical pain trials.

bottom of page